Editorial team

General Editor:
Nicholas Jose

Advisory Publishing Editor:
Mary Cunnane

Deputy General Editor:
David McCooey

Contributing Editors:
Kerryn Goldsworthy
Anita Heiss
Peter Minter
Nicole Moore
Elizabeth Webby

Nicholas JoseNicholas Jose has published several acclaimed novels, including Paper Nautilus (1987; new edition 2006), Avenue of Eternal Peace (1989, shortlisted for the Miles Franklin Prize; new edition 2008), The Custodians (1997), The Red Thread (2000) and Original Face (2005), as well as short stories, essays, translations and a memoir, Black Sheep: Journey to Borroloola (2002). He has written widely on contemporary Asian and Australian culture and was president of Sydney PEN, 2002-05. He held the Chair of Creative Writing at the University of Adelaide, 2005-08, and will take up the Harvard Chair of Australian Studies for 2009-10. He currently has a Chair in Writing with the Writing & Society Research Group at the University of Western Sydney where he continues to mentor emerging writers and to produce his own work. He is general editor of the Macquarie PEN Anthology of Australian Literature (2009).

Mary CunnaneMary Cunnane has been a literary agent in Australia since 1999 when she established The Mary Cunnane Agency. Prior to that she was a vice-president and senior editor at W.W. Norton & Company in New York where she worked for two decades until 1996 acquiring and editing the books of both American and overseas writers. Among the authors with whom she worked at Norton -- where she also served for ten years as British rights manager -- were Richard Dawkins, Stephen Pinker, Seamus Heaney, Kate Millett, Hilary Spurling, Robin Morgan, Frank Wilczek, Slavenka Drakulic, and Thomas Keneally. She has been a board member of the Feminist Press of the City University of New York; a vice president of the Sydney Centre of International PEN; and is a founding member and current vice president of the Australian Literary Agents Association.

Kerryn GoldsworthyKerryn Goldsworthy is an independent scholar and a freelance writer, reviewer, critic and essayist. She is also an Honorary Visiting Research Fellow at the University of Adelaide. She lectured in literature at the University of Melbourne from 1981 to 1997, specialising in Australian literature and creative writing. A former editor of Australian Book Review, she has also edited four anthologies of Australian short fiction. Her books include a collection of short stories, North of the Moonlight Sonata, and a critical study of the work of Helen Garner. She lives in Adelaide.

Anita HeissAnita Heiss is a member of the Wiradjuri nation of central NSW and a writer, poet, activist, social commentator and academic. She is author of Dhuuluu-Yala: Publishing Aboriginal literature, Not Meeting Mr Right and Who Am I?: The diary of Mary Talence, Sydney 1937. She won the 2004 NSW Premier’s History Award (audio/visual) for Barani: The Aboriginal history of Sydney. She is National Coordinator of AustLit’s Black Words subset and co-editor of the Macquarie PEN Anthology of Aboriginal Literature.

David McCooeyDavid McCooey is the author of Artful Histories: Modern Australian autobiography (1996) and Blister Pack (2005), a collection of poems. Artful Histories won a NSW Premier’s Literary Award. Blister Pack was awarded the Mary Gilmore Award. He has written numerous book chapters, essays, poems and reviews for many national and international publications. He is Associate Professor in Literary Studies at Deakin University, Geelong.

Peter MinterPeter Minter is an award-winning poet, editor and scholar. He is the author of several collections of poetry, including blue grass, Empty Texas and Rhythm in a Dorsal Fin, was the editor of the Varuna New Poetry series, a founding editor of Cordite Poetry and Poetics Review and co-editor of Calyx: 30 Contemporary Australian Poets. From 2000 to 2005 he was poetry editor of Meanjin, and guest editor of two special issues. He is co-editor of the Macquarie PEN Anthology of Aboriginal Literature. He lectures in Indigenous Studies and Poetics at the Koori Centre, University of Sydney.

Nicole MooreNicole Moore has published widely, both nationally and internationally, on twentieth-century Australian literature. She is editor of a scholarly edition of Jean Devanny’s novel Sugar Heaven. With Marita Bullock, she is the author of Banned in Australia (2008), the first comprehensive bibliography of federal literary censorship in Australia. Her history of Australian literary censorship is forthcoming. She teaches Australian literature and Australian Studies at Macquarie University, where she is a senior lecturer.

Elizabeth WebbyElizabeth Webby has been carrying out research into the literary and cultural history of Australia for over 45 years. Her publications include Early Australian Poetry (1982), Colonial Voices (1989), Modern Australian Plays (1990), The Cambridge Companion to Australian Literature (2000), as well as jointly edited anthologies, literary histories and scholarly editions. From 1988 to 1999 she was editor of Southerly, Australia’s oldest literary quarterly. She was a judge of the Miles Franklin Literary Award from 1999 to 2004. In 2004 she received an AM in recognition of her contributions to teaching and research in Australian Literature. She is now Emeritus Professor of Australian Literature at the University of Sydney.